It will be another history in the making when we hold the Year 2020 Lagos Teachers’ Merit Award ceremont to honour our outstanding performers in various categories of award in the Education Sector of our great State. We are so very proud of these laudable achievements at all strata in the Education sector.

The Contributions of Teachers to the development of a nation cannot be overemphasized. These efforts are evident in the successes recorded in the Education Sector and at the nation at large.

The teaching profession is such a unique one because it involves the dedication and strong efforts of promoting complex personal development of youth from diverse backgrounds to meet with expected standards in future work places and the acceptable world standard and best practices.
Awards like this, while promoting merit and encouraging dedication, would also bring to light the importance of education as a critical success factor for the socio-economic development of our emerging economy and the criticality of viewing a teaching career in high esteem.

We have a rational and proposed structure for the awards. The awards will be representation of entire state inclusive of Public Schools, Technical Colleges and (Private Schools).

Governor Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu will be rewarding 13 Teachers and Leaders 13 Cars. The thirteen recipients will be selected from the Government Primary, Junior Secondary, Senior Secondary and Technical Colleges in the State.

The Prizes to be won have been selected to directly impacts on the lives of the beneficiaries.

The selections of finalists would be made through stringent temporary rounds placed on a range of all-round evaluation criteria.
There is no gainsaying that this Administration is committed and still committing fortunes with a clear development agenda for the Education Sector as articulately strategized under the 6 Pillars of the THEMES agenda.

With the afore, permit me to express gratitude to our outstanding leader and coach, Mr. Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and the Deputy Governor, Dr. Kadri Obafemi Hamzat for their unflinching support always. Governor Sanwo-Olu has inaugurated a Nominations Committee let by Mrs. Lai Koiki, who is a seasoned technocrat in the Education Sector. She will be working with other seasoned professionals. Be assured of a process that exhibits fairness innovation and excellent standards.

Avail yourself to the website and media handles to apply. Esteemed Education Family let me assure you that the application process will be thorough and applicants must take into cognisance that their submissions must be supported with evidence in line with Professionalism, Subject Proficiency, Experience and your connection with the Community.

I look forward to grand finale and presenting the successful Teachers to Mr. Governor.
Igbega Ipinle Eko Ajumose ni.

Mrs. Folasade Adefisayo
Honourable Commissioner for Education