In 2006, at the 53rd National Council on Education meeting held in Calabar, Cross River State, a Policy statement was issued that each   State of the Federation should organize an Annual Merit Awards to support the National Teachers School Productivity Award. With the issued policy in mind, the Lagos State Government through the Ministry of Education decided on the idea of organizing the Annual Merit Award which emanated from the report of the 1977 Principals Conference on Discipline and Motivation in Schools. 

Series of recommendations were made towards solving the problems of gross indiscipline in Schools and the mitigating solution subsequently was the 52nd National Council on Education Conference held at Ibadan, Oyo State where it was decided to reward Teachers.

      The follow-up Policy Statement was issued in Calabar that each State should organize the Annual Merit Award for all deserving teachers; students, pupils and staff of the Ministry who have been exemplary in their various disciplines and in the discharge of their duties.

      The Ministry of Education has since held on to this tradition to reward and honour its staff, schools and student/pupils from the Ministry of Education, State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB), Education Districts, Office of Special Adviser on Education (OSAE), Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM), Lagos State Technical and Vocational Education Board (LASTVEB) and other agencies under the Ministry of Education.

Since the advent of the Lagos State Government Teacher’s Annual Merit Award, there has been a healthy competition among Teachers as they have continually collaborated towards adding value to the Education Sector.

    It is noteworthy to state that qualitative service, excellent standards, personal professional development, inclusion of innovation, impactful delivery on learners and a robust relationship with the community are enviable qualities that our teachers have imbibed due to this highly commendable healthy competition.

Emerged winners are however not the only categories  that go home with prizes during the ceremony as other awardees were also presented with befitting gifts to encourage future sterling performances in the discharge of their duties.